11 Facts About Southern Africa


Southern Africa is the southernmost subregion of the African continent, south of the Congo and Tanzania.

FactSnippet No. 827,729

Southern Africa is home to a number of river systems; the Zambezi River being the most prominent.

FactSnippet No. 827,730

Southern Africa includes both subtropical and temperate climates, with the Tropic of Capricorn running through the middle of the region, dividing it into its subtropical and temperate halves.

FactSnippet No. 827,731

Countries commonly included in Southern Africa include Angola, Botswana, the Comoros, Eswatini, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

FactSnippet No. 827,732

Terrain of Southern Africa is varied, ranging from forest and grasslands to deserts.

FactSnippet No. 827,733

Southern Africa is set apart from other Sub-Saharan African regions because of its mineral resources, including copper, diamonds, gold, zinc, chromium, platinum, manganese, iron ore, and coal.

FactSnippet No. 827,734

Countries in Southern Africa are larger in geographic area, except three smaller landlocked states: Lesotho, Swaziland, and Malawi.

FactSnippet No. 827,735

East and southern Africa are among the earliest regions where modern humans and their predecessors are believed to have lived.

FactSnippet No. 827,736

The denouement of South West Southern Africa achieved independence as Namibia in 1990 and the black majority in South Southern Africa took power after the democratic elections in 1994, therefore ending the Apartheid regime.

FactSnippet No. 827,737

Southern Africa has a wide diversity of ecoregions including grassland, bushveld, karoo, savannah and riparian zones.

FactSnippet No. 827,738

The Republic of South Southern Africa is a major food producer and exporter in the region.

FactSnippet No. 827,739