19 Facts About Canary Islands


Canary Islands, known informally as the Canaries, are a Spanish Autonomous Community and archipelago in the Atlantic Ocean, in Macaronesia.

FactSnippet No. 861,245

The Canary Islands are the southernmost region of Spain, and the largest and most populous archipelago of Macaronesia.

FactSnippet No. 861,246

In 1927, it was ordered by decree that the capital of the Canary Islands would be shared between two cities, and this arrangement persists to the present day.

FactSnippet No. 861,247

The Canary Islands is the largest and most populated archipelago of the Macaronesia region.

FactSnippet No. 861,248

The antipodes of the Canary Islands are found in the Pacific Ocean, between New Zealand, New Caledonia, Australia and the ocean.

FactSnippet No. 861,249

The Canary Islands is the only place in Spain where volcanic eruptions have been recorded during the Modern Era, with some volcanoes still active .

FactSnippet No. 861,250

Regional executive body, the Parliament of the Canary Islands, is presided over by Angel Victor Torres, the current President of the Canary Islands.

FactSnippet No. 861,251

Canary Islands'storians distinguish two periods in the conquest of the Canary Islands:.

FactSnippet No. 861,252

Whilst the first slave plantations in the Atlantic region were across Madeira, Cape Verde, and the Canary Islands, it was only the Canary Islands which had an indigenous population and were therefore invaded rather than newly occupied.

FactSnippet No. 861,253

At present, the Canary Islands is the only autonomous community in Spain that has two capitals: Santa Cruz de Tenerife and Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, since the Statute of Autonomy of the Canary Islands was created in 1982.

FactSnippet No. 861,254

Santa Cruz de Tenerife would be the capital of the Canary archipelago until during the Government of General Primo de Rivera in 1927 the Province of Canary Islands was split in two provinces: Las Palmas with capital in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, and Santa Cruz de Tenerife with capital in the homonymous city.

FactSnippet No. 861,255

Canary Islands have become home to many European residents, mainly coming from Italy, Germany and the UK.

FactSnippet No. 861,256

Canary Islands are divided into two Catholic dioceses, each governed by a bishop:.

FactSnippet No. 861,257

Canary Islands have eight airports altogether, two of the main ports of Spain, and an extensive network of autopistas and other roads.

FactSnippet No. 861,258

Tenerife Tram opened in 2007 and is currently the only one in the Canary Islands, travelling between the cities of Santa Cruz de Tenerife and San Cristobal de La Laguna.

FactSnippet No. 861,259

Mammals include the Canarian shrew, Canary Islands big-eared bat, the Algerian hedgehog and the more recently introduced mouflon.

FactSnippet No. 861,260

Marine life found in the Canary Islands is varied, being a combination of North Atlantic, Mediterranean and endemic species.

FactSnippet No. 861,261

The Canary Islands were formerly home to a population of the rarest pinniped in the world, the Mediterranean monk seal.

FactSnippet No. 861,262

Some holidays of those celebrated in the Canary Islands are international and national, others are regional holidays and others are of insular character.

FactSnippet No. 861,263