21 Facts About County Durham


County Durham, officially simply Durham, is a ceremonial county in North East England.

FactSnippet No. 956,137

Ceremonial county is officially named Durham, but the county has long been commonly known as County Durham and is the only English county name prefixed with "County" in common usage .

FactSnippet No. 956,138

The land that would become County Durham now sat on the border with the Great Heathen Army, a border which today still forms the boundaries between Yorkshire and County Durham.

FactSnippet No. 956,139

The crown regarded County Durham as falling within Northumberland until the late thirteenth century.

FactSnippet No. 956,140

Matters regarding the bishopric of County Durham came to a head in 1293 when the bishop and his steward failed to attend proceedings of quo warranto held by the justices of Northumberland.

FactSnippet No. 956,141

The arguments appear to have prevailed, as by the fourteenth century County Durham was accepted as a liberty which received royal mandates direct.

FactSnippet No. 956,142

County Durham had his own court, and almost exclusive jurisdiction over his men.

FactSnippet No. 956,143

From 1075, the Bishop of County Durham became a Prince-Bishop, with the right to raise an army, mint his own coins, and levy taxes.

FactSnippet No. 956,144

The reconstituted County Durham lost territory to the north-east to Tyne and Wear and to the south-east to Cleveland.

FactSnippet No. 956,145

The area of the Lord Lieutenancy of Durham was adjusted by the Act to coincide with the non-metropolitan county .

FactSnippet No. 956,146

The County Durham Council assumed their functions and became the fourth unitary authority.

FactSnippet No. 956,147

County Durham contains a small area of green belt in the north of the county, surrounding primarily the city of Durham, Chester-le-Street and other communities along the shared county border with Tyne and Wear, to afford protection from the Wearside conurbation.

FactSnippet No. 956,148

County Durham contains a sizeable area of the North Pennines, designated an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, primarily west of Tow Law and Barnard Castle.

FactSnippet No. 956,149

The highest point of historic County Durham is the trig point of Burnhope Seat, height 746 metres, between Weardale and Teesdale on the border with historic Cumberland in the far west of the county.

FactSnippet No. 956,150

County Durham, as considered a county for lieutenancy purposes by the Lieutenancies Act 1997, is administered as a part of the constituent country of England in the United Kingdom.

FactSnippet No. 956,151

The city of Durham is the most populous settlement in the county to have a parish.

FactSnippet No. 956,152

County Durham was aligned to other historic counties of England from 1836 until 1889; multiple acts were passed removing exclaves, splitting the county from the bishopric and reforming its structure.

FactSnippet No. 956,153

Non-metropolitan county was reconstituted on 1 April 2009: the strategic services-providing Durham County Council was re-organised into a single district of the same name, merging with the seven local facility-providing districts in the non-metropolitan county and became structured as a unitary authority.

FactSnippet No. 956,154

The LG Philips Displays cathode ray tube factory at Carrville, County Durham was the second largest employer in the north east after Nissan, before the company went bankrupt in 2006.

FactSnippet No. 956,155

County Durham LEA has a comprehensive school system with 36 state secondary schools and five independent schools .

FactSnippet No. 956,156

County Durham University is based in County Durham city and is sometimes held to be the third oldest university in England.

FactSnippet No. 956,157