32 Facts About Dehradun


Dehradun is the capital and the most populous city of the Indian state of Uttarakhand.

FactSnippet No. 1,309,629

Dehradun is one of the "Counter Magnets" of the National Capital Region being developed as an alternative center of growth to help ease the migration and population explosion in the Delhi metropolitan area and to establish a smart city in the Himalayas.

FactSnippet No. 1,309,630

Dehradun is located in the Doon Valley on the foothills of the Himalayas nestled between Song river, a tributary of Ganga on the east and the Asan river, a tributary of Yamuna on the west.

FactSnippet No. 1,309,631

Dehradun is a notable academic and research hub and is home to the Indian Military Academy, Forest Research Institute, Indira Gandhi National Forest Academy, The Doon School, Welham Boys School, Welham Girls School, Brightlands School, Rashtriya Indian Military College, Uttarakhand Ayurveda University, Wadia Institute of Himalayan Geology and the Indian Institute of Remote Sensing.

FactSnippet No. 1,309,632

Dehradun itself derives its name from the historical fact that Baba Ram Rai, the eldest son of the Seventh Sikh Guru Har Rai, set up his "Dera" in "dun" in 1676.

FactSnippet No. 1,309,633

Dehradun asked the contemporary Maharaja of Garhwal, Fateh Shah to extend all possible help to Ram Rai.

FactSnippet No. 1,309,634

Dehradun was invaded by Mahmud of Ghazni during his campaigns into India followed by Timur in 1368, Rohilla chief Najib ad-Dawlah in 1757 and Ghulam Qadir in 1785.

FactSnippet No. 1,309,635

Dehradun spent his last few days here before passing away in Delhi in 1964.

FactSnippet No. 1,309,636

Dehradun city falls in Garhwal division of Uttarakhand which is headed by the divisional commissioner of Dehradun, who is an Indian Administrative Service officer of high seniority.

FactSnippet No. 1,309,637

Nagar Nigam Dehradun, called Dehradun Municipal Corporation, is the local government of the city.

FactSnippet No. 1,309,638

Dehradun falls under the Lucknow zone of the Chief Bureau of Investigation, which is part of the central government.

FactSnippet No. 1,309,639

Dehradun city receives potable water from two primary sources- surface water and groundwater to meet its supply needs.

FactSnippet No. 1,309,640

The water supply of Dehradun is operated and maintained by Uttarakhand Jal Sansthan, a state agency.

FactSnippet No. 1,309,641

Sewage of Dehradun is operated and maintained by Uttarakhand Jal Sansthan but is selectively under the aegis of the Smart City project funded by the central government.

FactSnippet No. 1,309,642

Electricity in Dehradun is regulated through the Uttarakhand Power Corporation Limited, while Fire services are handled by the Uttarakhand Fire and Emergency Services.

FactSnippet No. 1,309,643

Hospitals and medical centers in the Dehradun are plagued by non-functioning equipment in the operating theatre and the insufficient number of labor rooms.

FactSnippet No. 1,309,644

Schools in Dehradun are classified as aided, unaided and Government schools.

FactSnippet No. 1,309,645

Notable private educational institutions in Dehradun include The Asian School, Brightlands School, Cambrian Hall, Colonel Brown Cambridge School, Convent of Jesus and Mary, The Doon School, Ecole Globale International Girls' School, Marshall School, Rashtriya Indian Military College, SelaQui International School, St Joseph's Academy, Dehradun, St Thomas' College, Summer Valley School, Welham Boys School and Welham Girls School, Indian Army Public Schools.

FactSnippet No. 1,309,646

Since Dehradun has many central Government offices, there are as many as 12 Kendriya Vidyalayas in the city.

FactSnippet No. 1,309,647

In recent times, Dehradun has evolved as a pivot location for higher education in India.

FactSnippet No. 1,309,648

Premier research institutes based in Dehradun are Doon University, Forest Research Institute, Dehradun Institute of Technology, Indian Institute of Remote Sensing, Indian Institute of Petroleum, Himgiri Zee University, Wildlife Institute of India, Instruments Research and Development Establishment and Wadia Institute of Himalayan Geology.

FactSnippet No. 1,309,649

Universities located in Dehradun are Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna Uttarakhand Medical Education University, Sardar Bhagwan Singh University, Uttaranchal University, Doon University, Institute of Chartered Financial Analysts of India University, Dehradun, University of Petroleum and Energy Studies, Swami Rama Himalayan University, Graphic Era University and Uttarakhand Technical University.

FactSnippet No. 1,309,650

Dehradun has experienced a commercial and information technology upswing, amplified by the establishment of software technology parks of India .

FactSnippet No. 1,309,651

Dehradun is known for its lychees and for growing the world's finest basmati rice.

FactSnippet No. 1,309,652

Dehradun is served by Dehradun Airport, known as Jolly Grant Airport, which began its commercial operations in on 30 March 2008.

FactSnippet No. 1,309,653

Dehradun has been home to artists and writers including Stephen Alter, Nayantara Sahgal, Allan Sealy, Ruskin Bond and to country singer Bobby Cash.

FactSnippet No. 1,309,654

Dehradun was home to freedom fighters whose names are engraved in gold on the Clock Tower.

FactSnippet No. 1,309,655

The battle took place around the Nalapani fort, near Dehradun, which was placed under siege by the British between 31 October and 30 November 1814.

FactSnippet No. 1,309,656

Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Dehradun is a multi-purpose stadium in the Raipur area of Dehradun, Uttarakhand.

FactSnippet No. 1,309,657

Formerly known as Malsi Deer Park, the main objectives of Dehradun Zoo are conservation of wild animals, developing an education center and a rescue center for wild animals.

FactSnippet No. 1,309,658

Uttara Museum of Contemporary Art is an art museum in Dehradun dedicating multi-dimensional artworks in the memory of the Kedarnath disaster, 2013 North India floods.

FactSnippet No. 1,309,659

Direct-to-Home entertainment services in Dehradun include Videocon d2h, DD Direct+, Dish TV, Reliance Digital TV, Airtel digital TV and Tata Sky.

FactSnippet No. 1,309,660