24 Facts About Greater Toronto


The Greater Toronto Area begins in Burlington in Halton Region, and extends along Lake Ontario past downtown Toronto eastward to Clarington in Durham Region.

FactSnippet No. 1,019,555

However, the Greater Toronto Area, which is an economic area defined by the Government of Ontario, includes communities which are not included in the CMA as defined by Statistics Canada.

FactSnippet No. 1,019,556

Greater Toronto Area is a part of several larger areas in Southern Ontario.

FactSnippet No. 1,019,557

Term "Greater Toronto" was first used in writing as early as the 1900s, although at the time, the term only referred to the old city of Toronto and its immediate townships and villages, which became Metropolitan Toronto in 1954 and became the current city of Toronto in 1998.

FactSnippet No. 1,019,558

Originally, the membership in Metropolitan Greater Toronto included the City of Greater Toronto and five townships: East York, Etobicoke, North York, Scarborough and York; as well as seven villages and towns, which became amalgamated into their surrounding townships in 1967.

FactSnippet No. 1,019,559

The early Metro Greater Toronto government debated over the annexation of surrounding townships of Markham, Pickering and Vaughan.

FactSnippet No. 1,019,560

Frederick Goldwin Gardiner, the first Metro Greater Toronto Chairman, planned on the conversion of these townships into boroughs of the Metro Greater Toronto government.

FactSnippet No. 1,019,561

In 2005, the Government of Ontario passed legislation to prevent urban development and sprawl on environmentally sensitive land in the Greater Toronto Area, known as the Greenbelt, many of these areas including protected sections of the Oak Ridges Moraine, Rouge Park and the Niagara Escarpment.

FactSnippet No. 1,019,562

Climate of the Greater Toronto Area is classified as humid continental, according to the Koppen climate classification.

FactSnippet No. 1,019,563

Much of the Greater Toronto Area is under Koppen Dfb zone, while Old Toronto and some areas between there and Burlington to the south-west, are under the Koppen Dfa climate zone, the hot summer subtype.

FactSnippet No. 1,019,564

Greater Toronto Area is a commercial, distribution, financial and economic centre, being the second largest financial centre in North America.

FactSnippet No. 1,019,565

Greater Toronto has the largest regional economy in Canada, with its GDP surpassing the province of Quebec in 2015.

FactSnippet No. 1,019,566

Greater Toronto is home to the headquarters of the Greater Toronto Stock Exchange and the Standard and Poor TSX Composite Index and offices of the TSX Venture Exchange.

FactSnippet No. 1,019,567

The Greater Toronto Area is the second largest automotive centre in North America .

FactSnippet No. 1,019,568

Greater Toronto's remaining farmland is completely within Rouge Park in the Rouge Valley.

FactSnippet No. 1,019,569

The Port of Oshawa and Port of Greater Toronto handle between 2 and 4 million tonnes of cargo annually.

FactSnippet No. 1,019,570

Greater Toronto Area is served by seven distinct telephone area codes.

FactSnippet No. 1,019,571

Since the 2015 election, the Greater Toronto Area has been represented by 58 Members of Parliament in the House of Commons of Canada.

FactSnippet No. 1,019,572

The Greater Toronto Area has the ability to influence election results and determine the governing party in Canada, due in part to its large population and riding count.

FactSnippet No. 1,019,573

Greater Toronto is the capital of Ontario with the Ontario Legislative Building, often metonymically known as Queen's Park after the street and park surrounding it, being located in downtown Greater Toronto.

FactSnippet No. 1,019,574

Greater Toronto CMA has the largest proportions of foreign-born residents as a share of the total population out of all metropolitan areas in the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development .

FactSnippet No. 1,019,575

The Greater Toronto region is unusually diverse over the composition of its ethnicities.

FactSnippet No. 1,019,576

Education in the Greater Toronto Area is managed by the provincial Ministry of Education, who manages preschool, elementary and secondary education, while the provincial Ministry of Colleges and Universities administers laws relating to tertiary education, including colleges, universities, and vocational schools.

FactSnippet No. 1,019,577

Greater Toronto Area is home to six publicly funded colleges that have campuses spread in and around the metropolitan area.

FactSnippet No. 1,019,578