12 Facts About Infinity Gems


Infinity Gems are seven fictional gems appearing in American comic books published by Marvel Comics, named after and embodying various aspects of existence.

FactSnippet No. 1,691,645

Although, the Infinity Gems altogether give its user nigh-omnipotence, the Gems only function on the universe they belong to and not on alternate realities.

FactSnippet No. 1,691,646

One year later, two more "Soul Infinity Gems" were introduced in a Warlock crossover involving Spider-Man.

FactSnippet No. 1,691,647

The main six Infinity Gems appeared when the death-obsessed villain Thanos attempted to use them to extinguish every star in the universe.

FactSnippet No. 1,691,648

Adam Warlock then recovers the Gauntlet and, by order of the Living Tribunal, divides the Gems that fit in the gauntlet among a group he calls "the Infinity Watch", consisting of himself, the superheroes Gamora, Pip the Troll, Drax the Destroyer, Moondragon, and his former adversary Thanos.

FactSnippet No. 1,691,649

Thanos and Galactus banish the entity and the Infinity Gems are scattered again with the exception of the Soul Gem, which Thanos retains for its customary custodian Adam Warlock.

FactSnippet No. 1,691,650

The Illuminati later wield the 6 main Infinity Gems to stop another universe from collapsing into their own but the cost of this however, was the destruction of the gauntlet and all gems minus the Time Gem which simply disappeared.

FactSnippet No. 1,691,651

For instance, on two occasions, one or more of the Infinity Gems have appeared as deep pink spheres several feet in diameter, while on other occasions, the Infinity Gems have appeared in their small oval shape but with different coloring.

FactSnippet No. 1,691,652

Additional Infinity Gems have appeared in crossover media and alternate universes outside the Marvel Universe.

FactSnippet No. 1,691,653

Infinity Gems informs Stark that the Infinity Gems are needed to save the world from a coming cataclysm that will destroy the entire universe.

FactSnippet No. 1,691,654

Infinity Gems, renamed Infinity Stones, play important roles in the first three phases of the Marvel Cinematic Universe, referred to collectively as the "Infinity Saga".

FactSnippet No. 1,691,655

The Infinity Gems Stones make minor appearances in the Phase Four television series Loki, WandaVision, and What If.

FactSnippet No. 1,691,656