22 Facts About Essex


County of Essex has four definitions: the ancient, ceremonial, administrative and postal counties.

FactSnippet No. 423,733

Postal county of Essex was a term in use by the Royal Mail until 1996, intended to facilitate the sorting of mail by assisting the differentiation of similar post towns.

FactSnippet No. 423,734

Highest point of the county of Essex is Chrishall Common near the village of Langley, close to the Hertfordshire border, which reaches 482 feet.

FactSnippet No. 423,735

Parts of eastern Essex suffer from high levels of deprivation; one of the most highly deprived wards is in the seaside town of Clacton.

FactSnippet No. 423,736

In contrast, mid, west and south-west Essex is one of the most affluent parts of eastern England, forming part of the London commuter belt.

FactSnippet No. 423,737

Essex has six main strategic routes, five of which reflect the powerful influence exerted by London.

FactSnippet No. 423,738

Main airport in Essex is Stansted Airport, serving destinations in Europe, North Africa and Asia.

FactSnippet No. 423,739

Essex has several smaller airfields, some of which owe their origins to military bases built during World War I or World War II, giving pleasure flights or flying lessons; these include Clacton Airfield, Earls Colne Airfield and Stapleford Aerodrome.

FactSnippet No. 423,740

Essex evolved from the Kingdom of the East Saxons, a polity which is likely to have its roots in the territory of the Iron Age Trinovantes tribe.

FactSnippet No. 423,741

Charter evidence shows that the Kings of Essex appear to have had a greater control in the core area, east of the Lea and Stort, that would subsequently become the county of Essex.

FactSnippet No. 423,742

The county of Essex was formed from the core area, east of the River Lea, of the former Kingdom of the East Saxons in the 9th or 10th centuries and divided into groupings called Hundreds.

FactSnippet No. 423,743

Essex men joined with their allies in attempting to storm Aldgate and Bishopsgate during an assault known as the Siege of London.

FactSnippet No. 423,744

The Lancastrians were defeated, and the Essex contingent retreated back over the Lea with heavy losses.

FactSnippet No. 423,745

Essex became part of the East of England Government Office Region in 1994 and was statistically counted as part of that region from 1999, having previously been part of the South East England region.

FactSnippet No. 423,746

Essex Police covers the administrative county and the two unitary authorities.

FactSnippet No. 423,747

The elections to the Young Essex Assembly occur in the respective schools in which the candidates are standing, likewise for the youth councils at a district and unitary level.

FactSnippet No. 423,748

County of Essex is divided into 12 district and borough councils with 2 unitary authorities.

FactSnippet No. 423,749

Essex is home to the Dunmow Flitch Trials, a traditional ceremony that takes place every four years and consists of a test of a married couple's devotion to one another.

FactSnippet No. 423,750

Essex has a number of other clubs which play below English football's fifth tier.

FactSnippet No. 423,751

Essex has one horse racing venue, Chelmsford City Racecourse at Great Leighs.

FactSnippet No. 423,752

Education in Essex is substantially provided by three authorities: Essex County Council and the two unitary authorities, Southend-on-Sea and Thurrock.

FactSnippet No. 423,753

University of Essex, which was established in 1963, is located just outside Colchester, with two further campuses in Loughton and Southend-on-Sea.

FactSnippet No. 423,754