34 Facts About Greater London


Greater London is an administrative area in England governed by the Greater London Authority.

FactSnippet No. 861,264

Greater London is one of the regions of England, known as the London Region.

FactSnippet No. 861,265

The Greater London Authority, based in Newham as of the start of 2022, is responsible for strategic local government across the area and consists of the Mayor of London and the London Assembly.

FactSnippet No. 861,266

Greater London can refer to a ceremonial county formed by the 32 London boroughs.

FactSnippet No. 861,267

Greater London was first established in 1965 as a sui generis council area and ceremonial county under the Greater London Council on 1 April 1965 through the London Government Act 1963.

FactSnippet No. 861,268

Greater London lacks any formal recognised city status in the UK, though the local authorities of the City of Westminster and the City of London have official city status.

FactSnippet No. 861,269

Greater London is split between parts of the historic counties of Middlesex, Essex, Surrey, Kent and Hertfordshire.

FactSnippet No. 861,270

Term Greater London has been and still is used to describe different areas in governance, statistics, history and common parlance.

FactSnippet No. 861,271

Term Greater London was used well before 1965, particularly to refer to the Metropolitan Police District, the area of the Metropolitan Water Board, the London Passenger Transport Area and the area defined by the Registrar General as the Greater London Conurbation.

FactSnippet No. 861,272

The Greater London Traffic Act 1924 was a result of the Commission.

FactSnippet No. 861,273

Reform of local government in the County of London and its environs was next considered by the Royal Commission on Local Government in Greater London, chaired by Sir Edwin Herbert, which issued the 'Herbert Report' after three years of work in 1960.

FactSnippet No. 861,274

Greater London was created by the London Government Act 1963, which came into force on 1 April 1965, replacing the administrative counties of Middlesex and London, including the City of London, where the London County Council had limited powers, and absorbing parts of Essex, Hertfordshire, Kent and Surrey.

FactSnippet No. 861,275

Greater London originally had a two-tier system of local government, with the Greater London Council sharing power with the City of London Corporation and the 32 London Borough councils.

FactSnippet No. 861,276

Greater London was covered by a single Parliamentary constituency in the European Parliament prior to the departure of the United Kingdom from the European Union.

FactSnippet No. 861,277

Greater London includes the most closely associated parts of the Greater London Urban Area and their historic buffers and includes, in five boroughs, significant parts of the Metropolitan Green Belt which protects designated greenfield land in a similar way to the city's parks.

FactSnippet No. 861,278

Greater London is bounded by Hertfordshire to the north, Berkshire and Buckinghamshire to the west, Kent to the southeast and Surrey to the south and southwest.

FactSnippet No. 861,279

Greater London is under the strategic local governance of the Greater London Authority .

FactSnippet No. 861,280

Greater London is divided into 73 Parliamentary borough constituencies, formed from the combined area of several wards from one or more boroughs.

FactSnippet No. 861,281

Term "Greater London" usually refers to region or to the conurbation, but not often to the ancient, tiny City of Greater London.

FactSnippet No. 861,282

Greater London is officially divided for some purposes, with varying definitions, into Inner London and Outer London.

FactSnippet No. 861,283

Greater London is divided into 32 London Boroughs, each governed by a London Borough council.

FactSnippet No. 861,284

The City of London has a unique government dating back to the 12th century and is separate from the county of Greater London, although is still part of the region served by the Greater London Authority.

FactSnippet No. 861,285

Three Greater London Boroughs carry the honorific title of Royal Borough: Kensington and Chelsea, Kingston, and Greenwich.

FactSnippet No. 861,286

In terms of population, Greater London is the 25th largest city and the 17th largest metropolitan region in the world.

FactSnippet No. 861,287

Greater London has been a focus for immigration for centuries, whether as a place of safety or for economic reasons.

FactSnippet No. 861,288

The United Kingdom has traditionally been Christian, and Greater London has a large number of churches, particularly in the City.

FactSnippet No. 861,289

Religious practice in Greater London is lower than in any other part of the UK or Western Europe and is around seven times lower than American averages.

FactSnippet No. 861,290

Greater London is home to sizeable Hindu, Sikh, Muslim and Jewish communities.

FactSnippet No. 861,291

At GCSE and A level, Outer Greater London boroughs have broadly better results than Inner Greater London boroughs.

FactSnippet No. 861,292

Greater London is generally a prosperous region, and prosperous areas generally have good GCSE results.

FactSnippet No. 861,293

The poor A-level results in many Greater London boroughs is explained by the quantity of independent schools getting good A-level results.

FactSnippet No. 861,294

Imperial College was part of the University of Greater London until 2007, and is an independent university.

FactSnippet No. 861,295

Greater London is home to the Greater London School of Economics and Political Science, one of the few solely social science institutions in the world.

FactSnippet No. 861,296

Greater London is a draw for UK graduates from all over the UK.

FactSnippet No. 861,297