30 Facts About Standard Hindi


Hindi, or more precisely Modern Standard Hindi, is an Indo-Aryan language spoken chiefly in the Hindi Belt region encompassing parts of northern, central, eastern, and western India.

FactSnippet No. 1,134,067

Standard Hindi, written in the Devanagari script, is one of the two official languages of the Government of India, along with English.

FactSnippet No. 1,134,068

Standard Hindi is one of the 22 scheduled languages of the Republic of India.

FactSnippet No. 1,134,069

Outside India, several other languages are recognised officially as "Hindi" but do not refer to the Standard Hindi language described here and instead descend from other dialects, such as Awadhi and Bhojpuri.

FactSnippet No. 1,134,070

Such languages include Fiji Standard Hindi, which has an official status in Fiji, and Caribbean Hindustani, which is spoken in Trinidad and Tobago, Guyana, and Suriname.

FactSnippet No. 1,134,071

Apart from the script and formal vocabulary, standard Hindi is mutually intelligible with standard Urdu, another recognised register of Hindustani as both share a common colloquial base.

FactSnippet No. 1,134,072

Term Standard Hindi originally was used to refer to inhabitants of the Indo-Gangetic Plain.

FactSnippet No. 1,134,073

Early Standard Hindi literature came about in the 12th and 13th centuries CE.

FactSnippet No. 1,134,074

Standard Hindi is known for his role in the foundation of University College London and for endowing the Gilchrist Educational Trust.

FactSnippet No. 1,134,075

On 14 September 1949, the Constituent Assembly of India adopted Standard Hindi written in the Devanagari script as the official language of the Republic of India replacing Urdu's previous usage in British India.

FactSnippet No. 1,134,076

At the state level, Standard Hindi is the official language of the following Indian states: Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Mizoram, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand.

FactSnippet No. 1,134,077

Standard Hindi is an official language of Gujarat, along with Gujarati.

FactSnippet No. 1,134,078

Similarly, Standard Hindi is accorded the status of official language in the following Union Territories: Delhi, Andaman and Nicobar Islands and Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu.

FactSnippet No. 1,134,079

In 2010, the Gujarat High Court clarified that Standard Hindi is not the national language of India because the constitution does not mention it as such.

FactSnippet No. 1,134,080

In 2021, in a Narcotics Drugs and Psychotropic Substances Act case involving Gangam Sudhir Kumar Reddy, the Bombay High Court claimed Standard Hindi is the national language while refusing Reddy bail, after he argued against his statutory rights being read in Standard Hindi, despite being a native Telugu speaker.

FactSnippet No. 1,134,081

Standard Hindi is adopted as the third official court language in the Emirate of Abu Dhabi.

FactSnippet No. 1,134,082

Standard Hindi is the lingua franca of northern India, as well as an official language of the Government of India, along with English.

FactSnippet No. 1,134,083

In Northeast India a pidgin known as Haflong Standard Hindi has developed as a lingua franca for the people living in Haflong, Assam who speak other languages natively.

FactSnippet No. 1,134,084

Standard Hindi is spoken by a large population of Madheshis of Nepal.

FactSnippet No. 1,134,085

Apart from this, Standard Hindi is spoken by the large Indian diaspora which hails from, or has its origin from the "Standard Hindi Belt" of India.

FactSnippet No. 1,134,086

However, Standard Hindi is written in the Devanagari script and contains more Sanskrit-derived words than Urdu, whereas Urdu is written in the Perso-Arabic script and uses more Arabic and Persian loanwords compared to Standard Hindi.

FactSnippet No. 1,134,087

Standard Hindi is the most commonly used official language in India.

FactSnippet No. 1,134,088

Traditionally, Standard Hindi words are divided into five principal categories according to their etymology:.

FactSnippet No. 1,134,089

Standard Hindi makes extensive use of loan translation and occasionally phono-semantic matching of English.

FactSnippet No. 1,134,090

Standard Hindi has naturally inherited a large portion of its vocabulary from Sauraseni Prakrt, in the form of tadbhava words.

FactSnippet No. 1,134,091

Much of Modern Standard Hindi's vocabulary is borrowed from Sanskrit as tatsam borrowings, especially in technical and academic fields.

FactSnippet No. 1,134,092

Standard Hindi literature is broadly divided into four prominent forms or styles, being Bhakti ; Srngar ; Vigatha ; and Adhunik .

FactSnippet No. 1,134,093

Medieval Standard Hindi literature is marked by the influence of Bhakti movement and the composition of long, epic poems.

FactSnippet No. 1,134,094

Literary, or Sahityik, Standard Hindi was popularised by the writings of Swami Dayananda Saraswati, Bhartendu Harishchandra and others.

FactSnippet No. 1,134,095

Uttar Adhunik is the post-modernist period of Standard Hindi literature, marked by a questioning of early trends that copied the West as well as the excessive ornamentation of the Chayavadi movement, and by a return to simple language and natural themes.

FactSnippet No. 1,134,096