30 Facts About The Mets


New York The Mets are an American professional baseball team based in the New York City borough of Queens.

FactSnippet No. 931,930

The Mets compete in Major League Baseball as a member of the National League East division.

FactSnippet No. 931,931

One of baseball's first expansion teams, the Mets were founded in 1962 to replace New York's departed NL teams, the Brooklyn Dodgers and the New York Giants.

FactSnippet No. 931,932

From 1964 to 2008, the Mets played their home games at Shea Stadium, named after William Shea, the founder of the Continental League, a proposed third major league, the announcement of which prompted their admission as an NL expansion team.

FactSnippet No. 931,933

Since 2009, the Mets have played their home games at Citi Field next to the site where Shea Stadium once stood.

FactSnippet No. 931,934

The Mets have qualified for the postseason ten times, winning the World Series twice and winning five National League pennants, and six National League East division titles.

FactSnippet No. 931,935

Since 2020, the Mets have been owned by billionaire hedge fund manager Steve Cohen, who purchased the team for $2.

FactSnippet No. 931,936

In 1964, the Mets hired Yogi Berra as a coach under Casey Stengel's coaching staff.

FactSnippet No. 931,937

In 1966, the Mets famously bypassed future Hall of Famer Reggie Jackson in the amateur draft, instead selecting Steve Chilcott, who never played in the majors.

FactSnippet No. 931,938

The Mets came within one strike of losing the World Series against the Boston Red Sox before a series of hits and defensive miscues ultimately led to an error by Boston's Bill Buckner which gave the Mets a Game 6 victory.

FactSnippet No. 931,939

The Mets won their second World Series title in seven games.

FactSnippet No. 931,940

In 1987 the Mets declined to re-sign World Series MVP Ray Knight, who then signed with the Baltimore Orioles and traded away the flexible Kevin Mitchell to the Padres for long-ball threat Kevin McReynolds.

FactSnippet No. 931,941

The Mets struggled for much of the 1990s, finishing with a losing record for six consecutive seasons between 1991 and 1996.

FactSnippet No. 931,942

The Mets nearly missed the playoffs in 2001 and struggled from 2002 to 2004.

FactSnippet No. 931,943

The Mets eventually succumbed to the St Louis Cardinals in Game 7 of the National League Championship Series.

FactSnippet No. 931,944

In 2007, the Mets entered the final 17 games in the season with a seven-game lead in the NL East.

FactSnippet No. 931,945

The Mets'sffield became the first pinch hitter to reach this milestone, as well as the first to do it in a Mets uniform.

FactSnippet No. 931,946

The Mets returned to the postseason in 2016, marking only the second time in franchise history that the team qualified for the postseason in consecutive years.

FactSnippet No. 931,947

The Mets fans were more likely to be found in Queens, Brooklyn, and the Long Island counties of Nassau and Suffolk.

FactSnippet No. 931,948

The Mets was introduced on the cover of game programs in 1963, when the Mets were still playing at the Polo Grounds in northern Manhattan.

FactSnippet No. 931,950

The Mets have had two mascots other than Mr and Mrs Met at different points in its history.

FactSnippet No. 931,951

The Mets' colors are blue and orange, originally chosen to honor the city's history of National League baseball; blue for the Brooklyn Dodgers, and orange for the New York Giants.

FactSnippet No. 931,952

Primary logo, designed by sports cartoonist Ray Gotto, consists of "The Mets" written in orange script trimmed in white across a blue representation of the New York City skyline with a white suspension bridge in the foreground, all contained in an orange circle with orange baseball stitching across the image.

FactSnippet No. 931,953

The logo fell into disuse after the Mets dropped the alternate black jerseys and caps in 2012.

FactSnippet No. 931,954

The Mets have retired eight numbers in the history of the franchise.

FactSnippet No. 931,955

The Mets won the division in 2006 and contended in 2007 and 2008, while the Phillies won five consecutive division titles from 2007 to 2011.

FactSnippet No. 931,956

The Phillies' 2007 Eastern Division Title was won on the last day of the season as the Mets lost a seven-game lead with 17 games remaining while losing 12 of 18 games that season to the Phillies, including being swept at home in the first 3 games of the remaining 17, dropping their lead from 7 games to 3.

FactSnippet No. 931,957

Longtime The Mets beat reporter Ed Coleman took over the pre- and post-game role for most games.

FactSnippet No. 931,958

The Mets were previously carried by WFAN-AM, which inherited the team's broadcast rights from WHN when it took over its frequency in 1987, and in later years by WFAN-FM which simulcasts the AM signal.

FactSnippet No. 931,959