12 Facts About Russian SFSR


The Russian SFSR Republic was composed of sixteen smaller constituent units of autonomous republics, five autonomous oblasts, ten autonomous okrugs, six krais and forty oblasts.

FactSnippet No. 1,948,824

The capital of the Russian SFSR was Moscow and the other major urban centers included Leningrad, Stalingrad, Novosibirsk, Sverdlovsk, Gorky and Kuybyshev.

FactSnippet No. 1,948,825

On 12 June 1990, the Congress of People's Deputies adopted the Declaration of State Sovereignty, established separation of powers, established citizenship of Russia and stated that the RRussian SFSR shall retain the right of free secession from the USSR.

FactSnippet No. 1,948,826

The new Russian SFSR constitution, coming into effect on 25 December 1993 after a constitutional crisis, completely abolished the Soviet form of government and replaced it with a semi-presidential system.

FactSnippet No. 1,948,827

Internationally, the RRussian SFSR was recognized as an independent state in 1920 only by bordering neighbors of Estonia, Finland, Latvia and Lithuania in the Treaty of Tartu and by the short-lived Irish Republic in Ireland.

FactSnippet No. 1,948,828

RRussian SFSR dominated the Soviet Union to such an extent that for most of the Soviet Union's existence, it was commonly, but incorrectly, referred to as Russia.

FactSnippet No. 1,948,829

International borders of the RRussian SFSR touched Poland on the west; Norway and Finland of Scandinavia on the northwest; and to its southeast in eastern Asia were the Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Mongolian People's Republic and the People's Republic of China.

FactSnippet No. 1,948,830

The Russian SFSR was controlled by the Communist Party of the Soviet Union until the 1991 August coup, which prompted President Yeltsin to suspend the recently created Communist Party of the Russian Soviet Federative Socialist Republic.

FactSnippet No. 1,948,831

The Gosplan of the RRussian SFSR, which replaced GOELRO, was reorganized into the Gosplan of the USSR.

FactSnippet No. 1,948,832

The Russian SFSR bear is an animal symbol and a national personification of Russia.

FactSnippet No. 1,948,833

Flag of the Russian SFSR changed numerous times, with the original being a field of red with the Russian name of the republic written on the flag's centre in white.

FactSnippet No. 1,948,834

The flag of the Russian SFSR was now a defaced version of the flag of the Soviet Union, with the main difference being a minor repositioning of the hammer and sickle and most notably adding a blue vertical stripe to the hoist.

FactSnippet No. 1,948,835